Driving home a couple of days ago, I had the Hillsong album ‘This is Our God’ blasting through my speakers. Desert Song came on and I was struck by one of the lines. I have spent a lot of time dissecting this song and finding scriptural references for the things it says, but I had always passed over this particular phrase.

“And this is my prayer in the battle/ when triumph is still on its way./ I am a conqueror and co-heir with Christ/ so firm on His promise I’ll stand”

As I chewed on the thought of being a conqueror for Christ, an odd image filled my mind that left me feeling simultaneously convicted and excited. I am conceptually aware that there is a spiritual war being fought, but I don’t respond to this fact in the way that I should. The way I see it, I am a soldier on the battlefield surrounded by warriors in white in black. As both sides are fighting, I am often very neutral about whose side I am on. Dressed in a neutral hue of gray, I stand dazed on the field. In my right hand, I hold a white flag high above my head, but in my left hand, I cling to a small black flag of which I cannot seem to let go. In some selfish, arrogant way, I think that both teams are fighting over me. I waste so much time being unsure of which side I should fight for that I don’t notice my own teamates being captured around me. I don’t run after the people clothed in gray who are being slaughtered and torn apart by the soldiers clothed in hopeless black. I watch them die because I am too fascinated with my little black flag to drop it and fight. I watch my own friends throw down their white flags, but because of my own fear of getting hurt in the battle, I simply stand and watch.

How can I be so focused on stupid idols, my little black flag, that I don’t even flinch when I see my own friends getting attacked in battle? How can I be so lazy that I don’t run and stand by their side? How can I care so much for my own comfort and image that I am willing to watch people with no teammates by their side walk straight into a sea of black, and not even bother to run over and stretch out my hand to help pull them out!? Even worse, how can I hold up both flags at the same time and try to fight? When I engage in a conversation that is centered around gossip, aren’t I running onto the field with a black flag held high? Aren’t I pulling my teammates down with me? I am such a useless warrior when I can’t even commit to one team!

However, the conviction I felt as these thoughts swept over me with painful clarity was immediately followed by a sense of irrepressible joy. I already know who wins the battle! When I focus solely on Christ, he can grant me the strenth to run on the battlefield with His name held high, and I can be conqueror for Him. I am running into war knowing that my team has already won. Not a single thing out there can hurt me. Not one bullet can puncture my armor. Not one swift swipe of a sword (alliteration… ahhh) can possibly bring me down. So, why would I ever consider standing on the field with two flags and an unsure expression? I want to be a selfless warrior who fights with joy for the Father that loves me and offers me protection and redemption. I want to be a true conqueror in Christ.

31What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? 33Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. 35Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36As it is written:
   “For your sake we face death all day long;
      we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” 37No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:31-39)

If I am a conqueror, what have I to fear?

