Yesterday, I woke up before 6 am without the assistance of an alarm or any type of discomfort. Instead, my body decided it was rested, and so my day began. I did my daily workout, sat down with my journal, colored pens, and bible, and found that we had orange juice in the fridge (which we never do). At 8, I headed over to my neighbors’ house to begin my long day of babysitting. When I walked in, I was surprised to find that the kids were still asleep. I had a bowl of Kashi cereal and then walked into each of their rooms to wake them up. When I opened Derek’s door, I found him hugging a pillow while sunlight spilled over his face. I couldn’t wake him up; he was too adorable. After some probing, Stacey woke up and poured herself a bowl of cereal in the cheeriest mood I’ve ever seen. Derek came out of his room too and curled up on the couch with me. After breakfast, I took some old 2 liter bottles and cut them in half. I secured a hand towel to the opening on the bottom with a rubber band and then filled two bowls with diluted dish soap. They dipped them in and blew monster bubbles which they then chased around the yard. They were exclaiming, “it’s snowing in july!” and my heart was already exploding with joy. This kept them entertained for almost an hour, after which they decided it was going to be a craft day. We headed over to my house to find random paints, papers, and cardboard. They sat next to me at my computer while we looked through some different craft ideas, and then we headed back to their house. We made homemade rainbow popsicles which were fun to eat, but even more fun to make. A few hours later, we sat outside licking our popsicles and then hopped into their pool. Derek swam for the VERY FIRST TIME without his floaties, and a huge smile never left his face–except when he was really focused on not drowning, which was a lot of the time.

It was a perfect day.

 

